Doing Life

Homemade Allergy Eye Drops

Homemade Allergy Eye Drops

If you’re new around here, you probably don’t know that I have a second (now defunct) blog about homemaking, prepping and frugal living. A couple months ago, I decided to put that blog on permanent hiatus and merge those posts with this blog, but then I never got around to the merging part. Until now. Since NaNoWriMo doesn’t leave a lot of time for blogging, throughout November I’ll be updating and re-posting some of the most popular posts from that blog. Like this one about making your own allergy eye drops, originally posted last December. It’s my most re-pinned post ever on Pinterest. If you’re suffering like I am this time of year, you’ll find it timely and helpful.

You wouldn’t think that the middle of December, with snow on the ground no less, would be prime time for a hay fever attack. Alas, here in Oklahoma, allergies don’t really have an off season, and the other day I woke up with a major case of burning red eye and stuffy sinuses. Naturally, I was all out of my allergy meds and eye drops, so once again I turned to Dr. Internet to see what kind of relief I could find in my own kitchen.

I normally take antihistamine drops when my eyes redden and swell up like that, so I was skeptical about how well anything I could make myself would actually help. But I was also desperate. So after consulting a few home remedy recipes online, I came up with my own simple recipe for an anti-bacterial saline solution:

1 cup filtered, purified or distilled water
1/4 tsp sea salt
1/4 tsp honey (for its antibacterial properties)

Boil the water, then mix in the salt and honey until it dissolves. After it cools, use a clean eye dropper or medicine dropper to place a few drops in each eye (I used a syringe for administering oral medications to our pets — washed thoroughly with soap and water and rinsed really well, of course). Most of the recipes I found online called for distilled water, but again, I had to use what I had on hand, which was purified bottled water.

It worked! I felt instant relief, and after a few more applications, all of the redness, pain and itchiness was gone. The best part is that since these drops aren’t medicated, I could use them as often as necessary without having to wait for the dosage to wear off. I also used some of the solution to flush out my sinuses and found myself breathing easy the rest of the day.

Do you have a favorite home remedy for allergies?  Tell us what works for you in the comments!

7 thoughts on “Homemade Allergy Eye Drops”

  1. Oh my! This really works. Thank you for posting this DIY Allergy Eye Drop recipe. I was miserable yesterday – my eyes would not stop itching, were blood shot, and swollen. I made your recipe last night and started using it as soon as it cooled down. I am amazed how well it works. I put the drops in several times last night and a couple times this morning. My eyes have completely calmed down. THANK YOU!! Being a health coach it is really important to me to use chemical free products. I am so happy to have found this recipe. Can’t wait to spend more time reading your blog!

    1. So glad! Thanks for letting me know. One note — you’ll want to keep it refrigerated if you add honey, or it will go moldy. I learned that the hard way.

      Hope you enjoy the blog. I haven’t updated it in a while because life has just been too hectic.

  2. May i know what is there for sinus please?I have a breathing problem and continous sneezing allergy?Gone to many doctors i am fed up of english medicines?Will u please reccommand any natural remedy for sinus please?Or ha i will definitely try this blog.And i will give u nice response..Thank you..

    1. Have you tried a Neti pot to rinse out your sinuses? It’s a bit gross, but I’ve found it really helps me breathe better when my sinus allergies act up. Also, my allergies have gotten a lot better since I cut way back on dairy in my diet.

Leave a Reply

